491 visa is point based and allows skilled workers who are nominated by:

  • regional Australian state or territory government, or
  • by family member that reside in regional Australia

This is a 5 year provisional visa which can lead to permanent 191 visa if conditions are met.

You must meet the basic requirements for immigration to Australia and meet the points test mark of 65 points.

Your occupation must be in the appropriate Combined Skilled Occupations List (STSOL-MLTSSL).

  • have a relevant occupation on the 190 occupation list (STSOL);
  • have a suitable skills assessment for the occupation from above list
  • be aged between 18 and 44 inclusive
  • have Competent English
  • meet the points test pass mark of 65 points
  • receive nomination invitation from one of the Australian regional areas
  • regional areas are defined as any area excluding Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane
  • lodge an EOI and be invited to apply
  • meet health and character requirements
  • live and work in Australia on a permanent basis;
  • live and work in the nominating regional area for minimum of 3 years before can apply for permanent 191 visa (will need to earn minimum AU$53,900 per year to qualify)
  • to receive state-subsidised medical assistance through Medicare insurance and the Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme (PBS);
  • to apply for permanent 191 visa in accordance with the established procedure;

4045 AUD – main applicant

2025 AUD – additional applicant over 18yo

1010 AUD – additional applicant under 18yo

These videos explain the difference between visas 189, 190 and 491. First video looks at the application process and eligibility requirement Second video explains the practical differences between these visas - permissions, limitations, social welfare subsidies and more.