191 is a permanent visa issued to eligible applicants that have lived and worked in Australian regional designated area on a previous eligible visa (visa subclass 491 or subclass 494)

Regional designated areas are defined as any area excluding Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane

This visa does not commence until 16 November 2022

To meet the requirements of the permanent visa (from November 2022) applicants must:

  • be a holder of provisional visa 491 or visa 494 for 3 years prior to application
  • have met the minimum taxable income requirement (AU$53900) for 3 years
  • both primary and secondary applicants have complied with the conditions of the eligible visa you hold or have held
  • no minimum age requirement is set
  • meet health and character requirements
  • live and work in Australia on a permanent basis;
  • to study at Australian educational institutions;
  • to receive state-subsidised medical assistance through Medicare insurance and the Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme (PBS);
  • receive social benefits (waiting periods may apply);
  • to apply for the citizenship of Australia in accordance with the established procedure;
  • to sponsor persons wishing to apply for an Australian immigration visa.

to be advised by 16 November 2022

These videos explain the difference between visas 189, 190 and 491. First video looks at the application process and eligibility requirement Second video explains the practical differences between these visas - permissions, limitations, social welfare subsidies and more.